The Names

My good friend Sandy is about to have a baby, and this week we were discussing baby names. She looks for the meaning before deciding if it’s an option- so cool ! Baby is due any day now..

A week or so ago I read an article somewhere about unusual names people had given their children in 2012. I quite like names- they are very powerful and speak prophetically into a life. Every time a person’s name is called something is spoken over their life, so I guess parents should choose names carefully for this reason !

After reading the article I did a few web searches to see if I could find some outrageous names from 2012.. and some that are just stupid. Celebrities seem to have a habit of naming their children something that’s a little bit different. Which is cool, if it’s not stupid. Here’s what I found..

Hashtag. Lol.
Tucker. I immediately thought of the film John Tucker Must Die. Also,ย where I grew up, tucker means dinner.
Blue. and Grey. Or Gray. A rather gloomy colour theme happening here. At least Violet is also a flower ๐Ÿ™‚
Delilah. I don’t think naming your child after a biblical prostitute is a good idea ๐Ÿ˜ฆ the name even means ‘seductive’.

Also, I managed to find a list of names that I like but I’d never name my children. These are the kinds of names I’d give characters in the stories I’d have to write at school. Mostly I made the names ridiculously long and creative.. just for fun ๐Ÿ™‚

Jazz. Sounds fun, but the meaning is lame.
Hugo. Because Hugo Boss is cool. But it could be misspelt as Huge..
Grace. It’s a beautiful name, but there’s far too many kids in Christian circles with it.
Chelsea. Chalk Wharf ??

Can’t wait to meet Sandy’s baby ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

