Boundaries

My 7th book (and last) for the summer is called Boundaries, by Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend. This is a good book ! My boyfriend sent this to me at the start of the year but it’s taken me a while to get through.

I’ve always had a hard time being able to say no to things, mainly because I want to be involved in everything but also because I feel obliged to do something for someone else. I feel bad saying no to someone who I feel is worse off than me in some area, and I’m always scared to offend people. My personality type doesn’t do well in disharmony either. So I’ve been a bit of a people pleaser all my life.

This book helped me realise that boundaries are there to protect you, not to shut others out. Boundaries are like fences with gates (not walls), that let the good stuff in and the bad stuff out. Boundaries shouldn’t make you feel guilty about saying no to something, but allow you to be free to say yes when it’s right. Let your yes be yes and your no be no- this is to protect our hearts and our relationships with others, something I’m learning.

I feel like this book has been a real practical tool, enabling me to practice putting boundaries in place in a safe environment, preparing me for bigger things. It’s taken me just over a month to read it, but already this book has changed my life. I’m sure it’s one I’ll read many times during my life.

Here ends the summer reading project. However I may still write a few blog entries about books 🙂

Leave a Reply

